parallax background

Criminal Justice is one of those public policy areas that is primarily the responsibility of local governments. Since criminals don't always respect jurisdictional lines, there is a need for some measure of regional coordination and cooperation.

Regional Purpose

There are a number of state and federal programs that provide money for some law enforcement activities. TCOG's Criminal Justice Program helps with these coordination efforts by working with the Governor's Criminal Justice Division, the regional law enforcement community, and local policymakers to develop and maintain a regional criminal justice community plan.

Victims of Crime

Victims of crime often need assistance to recover from their ordeal. TCOG's Criminal Justice Program and the Governor's Criminal Justice Division provide funds to area agencies that serve victims in the Texoma Region.

Keeping Schools Safe

Keeping schools in the Texoma Region safe takes time, energy and money. Through TCOG and the Governor's Criminal Justice Division, area schools and communities can apply for funds to promote drug and weapon-free schools and neighborhoods.

Meet the Team

Criminal Justice

Miranda Harp

Criminal Justice/Emergency Planning Program Supervisor

903-893-2161 x3552

Program Staff

Amy Willits

Public Safety Planner

903-893-2161 x3552

Criminal Justice Advisory Committee

Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Members
Mr. Brett Smith
Grayson County District Attorney's Office
Mr. Mike Bankston
Law Enforcement Subject Matter Expert -
Vice Chairperson
Mr. Corey Baker
Deputy Director - Fannin County Adult Probation
Mrs. Sandy Barber
Director - Fannin County Children's Center
Mr. Tim Barnes
Chief of Police - Van Alstyne Police Department
Mr. Brandon Caffee
Director - Fannin County Juvenile Probation
Mr. Chris Cypert
Judge, Municipal Court - City of Gainesville
Mr. Eric Erlandson
First Assistant District Attorney - Cooke County District Attorney's Office
Mr. Richard Glaser
District Attorney - Fannin County
Cheryl Gomez
Workforce Solutions Texoma
Ms. Toni Hellman
Cooke County Juvenile Probation
Ms. Erin Holt M. Ed., LPC
Licensed Professional Counselor -
Mr. Jason Kirk
Deputy Chief - Grayson County Adult Probation
Patty Kreider
Fannin County District Attorney's Office
Ms. Martha Nuckols
Children's Advocacy Subject Matter Expert - Grayson County Children's Advocacy Center
Ms. Kim Parsons
Director of Special Projects - Gainesville ISD
Mr. Kevin Phillips
Chief of Police - City of Gainesville
Ms. Carol Pillars
Executive Director - Fannin County Family Crisis Center
Ms. Shelli Shields
Executive Director - Grayson County Crisis Center
Mr. Greg Sumpter
Director, Grayson County Department of Juvenile Services - Grayson County
Chief Wayne Twiner
Fire Chief / Emergency Management Coordinator - City of Gainesville
Ms. Lisa Tyler
Executive Director - Substance Abuse Council
Ms. Gail Utter
Citizen Representative - Grayson County
Honorable Tom Watt
Sheriff - Grayson County


Meeting Minutes

No Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Meeting minutes are available.